Monday, December 7, 2009

MHL :: Seasoned Tiger Chairil still roaring

Former international Chairil Anwar is into his 20th season in the Malaysia Hockey League (MHL) and he still has a big part to play for Maybank in the Premier Division.

Chairil made his MHL debut for Kuala Terengganu Municipal Council in 1990. The following season, he was offered a job with Maybank and has since then featured for the Tigers in the MHL.

“It’s a record to have played in the MHL for the 19 years as most players would have retired by age of 35,” said the 37-year-old Terengganu-born forward.

“But I am still fit and can play as well as the good young players. I keep myself fit and will continue to play in the MHL as long as my services are needed.”

Chairil, who scored seven goals for the Tigers last year, added he would go all out to lead the forward-line and score goals from deflections.

“I am good with my deflections and definitely want to be on the score sheet in every match,” said the father of three children, who quit international hockey after the 2002 Busan Asian Games.

Besides Chairil, the other forwards in the team are Hafifihafiz Hanafi, Suhaimi Ibrahim, Hang Edzharsyay Hang Tuah, Mohd Azammi Adabi and Nor Khairul Azrain.

Coach S. Velappan said that Chairil’s services were valuable because of his ability to still play competitive hockey and to guide the younger players in the team.

“He also has good scoring ability from deflections and this will be the plus point for us,” he said.

Maybank finished fourth in a six-team league last year and were third in the overall championship.

The Tigers last won the league title in 1995 and were double champions the previous year. They also won the overall title in 1988 and 1990.

Maybank will open their campaign against Nur Insafi on Saturday at the Tun Razak Stadium.

The other teams in the Premier Division are Sapura, Tenaga Nasional, Kuala Lumpur Hockey Club (KLHC) and University Kuala Lumpur.

the competition takes a carnival atmosphere and besides the Tun Razak Stadium, matches will also be played in Penang, Malacca and Johor Baru.

The league will be played over two rounds with all six teams featuring in the knockout stage, which will also have the top two teams from Division One. The final is scheduled for Feb 12.

No comments: